Tasapspider/0.9
Just found this “bot” going crazy on a site that is on a dedicated server, took the entire server offline. This bot looks to be new and from China, so be on the lookout.
Other reports are saying it is ignoring the robots.txt file, so might not be good enough to deny it there.
It was coming from 218.28.29.236
Here are more details about that IP, and what ranges you might want to block.
http://whois.domaintools.com/218.28.29.236
I placed the following in my .htaccess file
order allow,deny
deny from 218.28.
deny from 218.29.
allow from all
Please post a comment if you this bot has hit your site.

This spider took down a clients site twice for me now. About to start blocking it. It is indeed a chinese search engine at http://www.tasap.com/
Just had a run-in with this bot and had it knock my SQL server over temporarily. Time to say good by at the firewall.
Yes, this bot is brutal, even blocking with .htaccess is sometimes not enough as it still can hit the server.
We were getting hit with this as well, caused server load to spike, made server completely unresponsive except for ping. Blocked the IP at the firewall level hopefully that takes care of it.
George, yes that is the way to block it. I found .htaccess file blocking is sometimes not enough since it still hits the server.
This unwanted visitor took down my VPS this morning hammering it with 20/30 HTTP GET requests a second.
On Linux an IPTables exclusion rule can be setup :
iptables -I INPUT -s 218.28.29.236 -j DROP
Thanks Ed, another great way to block this spider.